The NIgeria Senate which is also called the red chamber has debunked the news on alleged proposed creation of new states. This news was debunked by Senator Ajibola Basiru who is the spokesman of the Senate.

Senator Basiru clarified that the red chamber’s position was grossly misunderstood and misrepresented, adding that it is not in a position to recommend such a legislation.

The spokesman of the Senate, Ajibola Basiru, who spoke with journalists on Sunday which was yesterday, said that the Red chamver has no power to make such a recommendation. This was reported by Channels TV reports.

Senator Basiru explained that what they only did was to “refer the requests to the Independent National Electoral Commission to ensure compliance with section 8 of the constitution , by conducting a referendum in the areas if the requests supported by at least two-thirds majority of members in the Senate, the House of Representatives and the House of Assembly in the area.

On review of the 1999 constitution, a lot of bills on creation of new states has actually been submitted to the Senate committee

Below are the list of new states that were proposed to be carved out from existing states in Nigeria:

1. ITAI State from Akwa Ibom

2. Katagum state from Bauchi

3. Okura state from Kogi East

4. Adada state from Enugu

5. Gurara state from Kaduna

6. South Ijebu State from Ogun

7. Ibadan state from Oyo

8. Tiga state from Kano

9. Ghari state from Kano

10. Amana state from Adamawa

11. Gongola state from Adamawa

12. Mambilla state from Taraba

13. Savannah state from Borno

14. Okun state from Kogi

15. Etiti state from the southeast zone

16. Orashi state from Imo Anambra

17. Njaba from the present Imo state

Or the excision of Aba state from Abia Anioma state from Delta Torogbene and Oil River states, from Bayelsa, Delta and Rivers states Bayajida state from parts of Katsina, Jigawa and Zamfara


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here